Some Connecticut lawmakers are frustrated by drivers who ignore the state's ban on talking and texting on hand-held cellphones. They now want insurance companies to know when their customers break the law.
Lawmakers hope the prospect of higher insurance rates will encourage people to hang up and drive.
A bill supported by leaders of the legislature's Transportation Committee is awaiting action in the House of Representatives. It would add distracted driving to the list of moving violations that would be made available to insurance companies.
Currently, if people violate the distracted driving law, they have to pay a fine and their insurer is none the wiser.
The bill also increases fines. They now range from $125 to $300. Under the bill, they'd range from $150 to $400.
Associated Press/NBC Connecticut
Photo Credit: Getty Images